cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to get Openreach to update my address for FTTP availability or carry out an MDU install?

Phattmatt
Dabbler

How to get Openreach to update my address for FTTP availability or carry out an MDU install?

Hi All,

I feel like I've been banging my head against the wall for two years now.

I've been a Plusnet customer (FTTC) for over 10 years and I've been very happy with the service.

Two years ago FTTP was installed and made available in my street. I placed an order (my address was listed as "Single Dwelling Unit Residential OH Feed with no anticipated issues"), on activation day the engineer was unable to install because the trees between the pole and my flat were being trimmed. He was also concerned that because my living room faced away from the pole, he would have to run the cable through to the back of my flat.

The order was cancelled, and subsequently I am unable to place FTTP orders (my address is now listed as "FTTP is not available"). I was told my address is now categorised as requiring an MDU installation. I submitted the MDU form to get the ball rolling.

Since then several of my immediate neighbours have managed to get FTTP installed overhead via a pole. With one neighbours cable run going from the front of my flat, attached all the way to the back of my flat, and then beyond. It literally goes past my flat.

• Every time I contact Plusnet (or other ISPs) I get the standard 'can't install, fill in the MDU form' response.
  • Every time I contact Openreach with a "Availability Checker Enquiry" I get the standard 'fill in the MDU' form response.
  • Every time I contact Openreach with the MDU form (which now appears closed) I get no response.

Does anyone have a similar experience?

Are there any suggestions about how to get someone to actually look at the issue rather than "computer says no"?