Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Speed halved following line fault - line test request, please

Jaggies
Aspiring Pro
Fixes: 2

Speed halved following line fault - line test request, please

I reported a phone line fault on Monday 12/6/23 following a nearby lightning strike. I have a dial tone at the master socket but not on my extensions, which I have now disconnected.

My sync speed has dropped from about 55-58 Mb/sec to around half that. The Openreach engineer who attended on Monday this week fitted a new faceplate, and quoted the "7 day settling in period" to me when I questioned the sync speed, however I know that is not likely. A previous OR visit on Wednesday last week saw a van parked outside a couple of times, but although he apparently rang the doorbell it wasn't working and so I didn't get the chance to speak to him.

I have an alternative router I might try but before going to a considerable amount of trouble doing that, can I ask if a staff member could please run a test on my line to see if it is worth raising a VDSL fault rather that a phone line fault?

The line in to the property runs through trees, and previous issues have seen a bloke with a chainsaw going into the woods and trimming back branches.

14 REPLIES 14
Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 162

Re: Speed halved following line fault - line test request, please

As likely as not the line needs resetting.  "7 day settling in period" is more BT Openreach myth.  If the line is banded chronically, it will never self right.

Can you please post your router stats.

Is the line quiet?  Dial 17070 option 2.

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

Jaggies
Aspiring Pro

Hi. I did the quiet line test and can't hear anything sinister on the line. Router is a Billion BiPac 8800 AXL, stats as follows:

xDSL
Mode VDSL2
Traffic Type PTM
Status Up