cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wi-Fi extender help

FIXED
SarahB7183

Wi-Fi extender help

I have a hub 2 and a wired Ethernet connection going to our new garden room. It doesn’t look like Plusnet have boosters so I’m looking for recommendations on what router / access point I need to buy (I’m not entirely sure what the difference is or which one I need). It will be used for TV streaming and general Wi-Fi connectivity in the garden. Any help gratefully received.

8 REPLIES 8
bmc
Hero
Fixes: 50

Re: Wi-Fi extender help

@SarahB7183 

If you have an ethernet connection to plug into you need a Wireless Access Point (WAP).

I have no experience of these but I'm sure others will chip in.

Brian

MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 405

Fix

@SarahB7183 assuming that you want both wired and wireless access in the garden room, then I'd suggest getting a router that can be set to 'Access point mode'.

I've no direct experience of them but the Mercusys routers seem very good value at the moment and are part of the TP Link brand , who've always produced reasonable kit..

For instance the MR50G here https://www.amazon.co.uk/MERCUSYS-Wireless-MU-MIMO-Supports-Parental/dp/B08C5MLZW7 would probably be suitable and does have an access point mode option ( see page 12 of the manual here https://static.mercusys.com/manual/1910080091_MR50G_UG_REV1.0.120230303081901.pdf )

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

Ian06
Aspiring Pro
Fixes: 3

I have a couple of TP-Link WAPs (Wireless Access Points) connected to my router via ethernet.  I have always been happy with TP-Link and this is a great little discrete unit TP-Link AC1200 Wireless  Gigabit Wall-Plate Access Point