cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Packet Loss / High latency in evenings

smyth1492
Hooked

Packet Loss / High latency in evenings

I have been a plus.net customer for very many years and up to the last year the service has been superb. For some time now, in the evenings and often on Friday's the service is very slow with moments of high latency. This impacts working from home, steaming TV (sometimes this is impossible) and gaming performance for my son.

I work in IT so have good level of knowledge. We now have a HUB 2 and use orbi wifi mesh in the home. When the performance is bad, it also affects cabled devices. On the wifi it does not matter if I use the Hub 2 wifi or my Orbi Mesh (my hub2 wifi is currently disabled).

I know that 'pings' get impacted by traffic priority, however, I often see normal response of circa 30ms then rises to several hundred ms response and when it is bad it is often high or packet loss. 

An example of this, last night I could not stream Amazon Prime on my Google TV, it just would not load and then this morning I was able to load within 2-3 seconds. 

I have been on to Plus.net support and they can't find anything wrong and used the automated test service via SMS and that is OK. Of course the worse periods are in the evenings when the support lines are shut.

The performance of the service is so bad that if I was not in contract then I would change provider despite having been a loyal customer for many many years.

Any ideas?

17 REPLIES 17
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Packet Loss / High latency in evenings

@smyth1492 wrote:

... ... I work in IT so have good level of knowledge.

... ... I know that 'pings' get impacted by traffic priority, however, I often see normal response of circa 30ms then rises to several hundred ms response and when it is bad it is often high or packet loss. 

... ... ...  Any ideas?