Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Very low speed ip profile

msu_global
Hooked

Very low speed ip profile

Hi,

I have been with plusnet for more that 3 years but my internet speed has always been unstable tbh.

I wrote to Plusnet through their email and twitter accounts as I am UNABLE to communicate over phone due to an ongoing health condition (however someone from Plusnet was trying to reach me by phone after I used the HELP text service).

SINCE several days (7-10 days), the download speed has been continuously around 9MB to 24MB although I am on the Unlimited Fibre Extra (with an estimated download speed of 66MB).

I am an experienced network engineer myself so I did all the required tests (including the ones recommended by Plusnet) with the Plusnet Hub directly connected to the master socket.

Please URGENTLY check this from your end in order to rectify this situation.
If you need to communicate with me, please only use texts/emails.

Downstream: 16.49 Mbps
Upstream: 5.127 Mbps

Unlimited Fibre Extra
66Mb
estimated download speed
8 REPLIES 8
jab1
Legend
Fixes: 282

Re: Very low speed ip profile

@msu_global Plusnet staff response on here can be a little slow, so I suggest you try the following:

It sounds very much like you have a problem - most likely not in your home/office environment, but more likely in the BT/OR network.

First thing to check: Is your phoneline clear? Dial 17070 (preferably from a corded phone), select option 2. Once your phone number is confirmed, there should be silence on the line except for the regular 'Quiet Line Test' message - any other noise, report a PHONE problem via: https://www.plus.net/help/report-a-problem/phone/

If the phone test passes, report a broadband problem via: https://www.plus.net/help/report-a-problem/broadband/

Let us know the result - if the tests come back as clear but you still have a problem, we need to investigate further.

John
msu_global
Hooked

Thanks John for your kind support!