cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New View My Broadband Usage layout

hadden
Grafter
Posts: 486
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎27-07-2007

Re: New View My Broadband Usage layout

Just to be clear, my post above (#13) is reporting a bug.
The new usage page does not state my monthly usage limit and does not state my monthly usage related to that limit, as the previous version of this page did.
Andrew_B
Grafter
Posts: 247
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎07-04-2007

Re: New View My Broadband Usage layout

The overnight usage graph colour is now a darker shade of blue, as per multiple requests Smiley
The bug on Premier and other accounts where peak/off peak breakdown was shown incorrectly has also been fixed.
@JohnJ - VMBU has never shown an allowance figure for Premier accounts in the standard view (I've just double-checked the old Template incase I missed something). You'll see an alert box if you approach or go over the thresholds detailed here and these do mention figures relative to your account, but that's it.
hadden
Grafter
Posts: 486
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎27-07-2007

Re: New View My Broadband Usage layout

Thanks.
Unfortunately my billing period reset last night, so I will need to wait a few weeks to see the benefit.
Sorry about mis-remembering the information displayed on the old screen. I'm afraid I was relying on old fashioned biological memory. It can be so convincing.
Epyon
Grafter
Posts: 285
Registered: ‎31-03-2011

Re: New View My Broadband Usage layout

Yup this blue is allot better.
Andrew_B
Grafter
Posts: 247
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎07-04-2007

Re: New View My Broadband Usage layout

@JohnJ
Checking other Premier accounts, I can see that the notes are displaying as intended, I would expect your account to do the same if/when the time comes.
Give me a shout if you have any problems with this Smiley
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: New View My Broadband Usage layout

Quote from: Joanne
HI Folks,
As from next Tuesday 7th June you'll notice a few changes to your 'View My Broadband Usage pages' on the website. Here's a sneak preview...
Jojo Smiley


I particularly like this one...
It goes well with the Excel spreadsheet I set up to show me my usage on another (slow) ISP
I shall amend my SS to utilise these figures
WWWombat
Grafter
Posts: 1,412
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎29-01-2009

Re: New View My Broadband Usage layout

We've just had the monthly reset overnight, but I've noticed that there is a problem with the values displayed during the small hours... between midnight and 4AM.
The VMBU summary page shows you (in a big, red font) your usage within allowance, but doesn't show you the free usage.
However, below that is a graph of usage ... with a key to the colours used. On the right-hand side of each description is a "?" box, which can be hovered over.
The two boxes that appear when hovering also display usage: one for usage within allowance, and one for the usage in the free overnight slot.
What I noticed last night is that:
- At midnight, the value reported for usage within allowance went to zero immediately
- At midnight, the value reported for usage outside allowance did not zero. Instead it jumped massively, and took on the full value (ie the sum of the previous usage both within and outside allowance).
- At midnight, the breakdown percentage figures stayed the same as the day before.
- The value reported for usage outside allowance then continued to rise over the next 4 hours.
- At 3AM, the breakdown percentage figures reset themselves - not to zero, but presumably taking into account the 3 hours of traffic.
- At 4AM, the value for usage outside allowance reset itself. It too didn't zero, but presumably took into account usage for 4 hours.
Plusnet Customer
Using FTTC since 2011. Currently on 80/20 Unlimited Fibre Extra.
spraxyt
Resting Legend
Posts: 10,063
Thanks: 671
Fixes: 75
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: New View My Broadband Usage layout

This behaviour is not something introduced with the new VMBU pages, it's always been like that. The important thing is that daily usage resets at midnight, and I think anyone restricted through being over their paid-for allowance should return to normal speeds.
The remaining figures don't mean a lot until the billing reset goes through. Personally I don't think that matters.
David
jelv
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 26,785
Thanks: 965
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: New View My Broadband Usage layout

It would be better if between midnight and 4am or whenever the billing process completes it displayed a page saying "Usage data not available - billing in progress".
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
hadden
Grafter
Posts: 486
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎27-07-2007

Re: New View My Broadband Usage layout

I've written a Greasemonkey script to help advise me the average daily usage that I should try not to exceed, for the remainder of the current billing period, if I want to avoid traffic management.
The scripts parses the billing period dates and the peak usage total display from the portal Usage page and displays an alert as below.
This works for Broadband Premier because I don't know the page layout for other products.
As the usage limit is not displayed for me, I've coded it into the script. As the traffic management starts to kick in at 11GB for Option 1, that is the figure I have used.
Here's the script if anyone is interested in trying, enhancing or fixing it for other products.
// ==UserScript==
// @name          Plusnet Remaining Peak Usage Rate
// @include        https://portal.plus.net/view_my_broadband_usage/index.php
// ==/UserScript==
var trafficLimit = 11; // Number of GB before traffic management kicks in.
var dateRange = document.getElementsByTagName('p')[2].childNodes[0].textContent;
var dateFrom = new Date(dateRange.substr(0,11));
var dateTo = new Date(dateRange.substr(14,11));
var dateNow = new Date();
var timeFrom = dateFrom.getTime();
var timeTo = dateTo.getTime();
var timeNow = dateNow.getTime();
var rangeDays = parseInt((timeTo-timeFrom)/(24*3600*1000))+1;
var partDays = parseInt((timeNow-timeFrom)/(24*3600*1000))+1;
var leftDays = parseInt((timeTo-timeNow)/(24*3600*1000))+1;
var partPeak = document.getElementsByTagName('p')[4].childNodes[1].textContent
var partUom = partPeak.substr(-2);
var partUsage = partPeak.slice(0,-2);
switch (partUom)
{
case "KB":
partUsage = ((partUsage/1024)/1024).toFixed(2);
break;
case "MB":
partUsage =(partUsage/1024).toFixed(2);
break;
default:
partUsage = partUsage;
}
var leftUsage = trafficLimit - partUsage;
var leftRate = parseInt(1000*leftUsage/leftDays);
alert('REMAINING PEAK USAGE RATE: Broadband Premier\n\nThis is day '+partDays+' of the current '+rangeDays+' day billing period.\nTraffic management will impact after '+leftUsage+'GB peak usage during the next '+leftDays+' days.\nTo avoid that you should not exceed an average of '+leftRate+'MB per day.');
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: New View My Broadband Usage layout

I've done a similar thing using Excel, daily two part monitoring, average usage, usage per day left, projected usage per month etc, I originally developed for my previous ISP.
I did download a lot of software updates my first night !!
mexicano
Rising Star
Posts: 187
Thanks: 6
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎17-07-2010

Re: New View My Broadband Usage layout

Hi,
Can I add my two cents worth? Is it possible to move aside the right hand column that starts: Please note: Your usage includes....... On my screen this column overlaps the total usage. Is it me and what can I do to fix this?
Thanks
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: New View My Broadband Usage layout

I have this problem too, been meaning to inform PN for a while, thanks for the prompt.
The usage table expands right as the mb increases, especially 100mb+
I think the RH column is unnecessary. (Relocate to bottom of page ?)
mexicano
Rising Star
Posts: 187
Thanks: 6
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎17-07-2010

Re: New View My Broadband Usage layout

And I thought this was just my problem. It's no big deal but it is quite annoying. The page got revamped but no-one bothered to check on something as simple as an overlap. Down the bottom of the page is a very good idea. I wonder how long it would take plusnet to change this? Or would they want to anyway?
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: New View My Broadband Usage layout

Yes it's really obvious once real figures are entered by the system.
I'm sure it will be changed now it's been pointed out.
It's annoying to have to +++++ the font to read later in the week figures.
Do we really need to know the MB usage to 2 decimal points ?
GB yes, MB no I suggest