Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

fibre speed has dropped since the install earlier today

David3
Dabbler

fibre speed has dropped since the install earlier today

Hello

Today I have had my full fibre installed today,the engineer tested and the results  back as full speed 300Mbps down and 48Mbps up
Just got home and done a test myself using  the Speed test app on my phone via the wi-fi the result was 175 Mbps download and 48.3 Mbps upload

Is this due to the fibre connection settling down,I have signed for a 300Mb package,using Hub2 of course and not getting anywhere near the speeds when the engineer came earlier
Or is it a system fault
, I have tested the connection again  with my Lan cable into this computer and the speeds are fine very fast.
So the problem is with  the speed on Wi-fi of my phone,,I'm not that technically minded so bear with me

Appreciate the advice

8 REPLIES 8
Mr_Paul
Seasoned Pro
Fixes: 12

Re: fibre speed has dropped since the install earlier today

@David3 

"using  the Speed test app on my phone via the wi-fi"

Speed tests via WiFi are rarely reliable - you are testing your WiFi as much as the fibre service.

zpeterk
Grafter

If you want to test your speed do it with a wired connection to a computer, there are too many variables with wifi

David3
Dabbler

@Mr_Paul 

Hello thank you
 Yes I have just done that ,as per my post I was writing when you replied.I am getting excellent speed with my ethernet cable connected
 Thank you 

David3
Dabbler

@zpeterk 

Thank you

Yes I kinda guessed and was expecting something amazing.While connected to the wif fi on my phone
But I have tested via my ethernet cable connected  to this computer and the speeds are excellent

SammyM
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Fixes: 99

Hiya @David3

I would just tweak the wireless setting to help maximize the wireless connection. 

Guides can be found here; Getting the best WiFi (wireless) signal | Help | Plusnet