Did you mean: 

Faulty phone line - URGENT request for assistance

FIXED
caulbox
Rising Star
Fixes: 1

Faulty phone line - URGENT request for assistance

URGENT request for assistance.

I'm that rare user who has never had (or ever used!) a mobile phone. I totally rely on my landline and broadband connection. I've been with Plusnet, Force 9, FreeOnline etc for about 20 years and usually have a very reliable connection (typically several months between disconnects and no telephone problems whatsoever).

During the last few days my internet connection has started to last just a few minutes if I am lucky. It was not uncommon in the past for my typical uptime duration to be reported as 100+ days....But now I'm losing connection every few minutes. I'm not very tech savvy, but when I access the helpdesk tab in my router pages I can see 'crazy variations' which bear no resemblance to the data which used to be reported when I had a reliable connection. I observe staggering variations in reported Data rate, Maximum data rate,  Noise margin, Line attenuation, with every short-lived connection - none of which bear any relation to what I was accustomed to when I had stability in the past.