cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Does HubTwo work with Mesh WiFi? Or do I need a new router?

user89p13

Does HubTwo work with Mesh WiFi? Or do I need a new router?

Hi all 

I've recently switched to Plusnet on the Full Fibre 900 package, and they are sending a Hub Two router. I'm skeptical that I will get these kind of speeds without some form of mesh system - but I'm new to home networking and not sure where to start! But it sounds like something that would be worthwhile as I have plenty of wireless devices connected (phones, tablets, TVs, speakers, Hive devices etc). 

My property is a new build with FTTP and the current router (BT branded Smart Hub 2) is in the understairs cupboard connected directly to the modem. Despite currently being with BT/EE on a 500mb plan, I rarely get more than 100mb on a speed test and this can often drop quite considerably to less than 10mb wirelessly - hence the move. 

I've had a quick google around on the matter and I've noticed some comments about how the Plusnet HubTwo router isn't compatible with Mesh systems, so I may need a Mesh system that includes its own router? But if that's the case, are there are suggestions as to which would be worthwhile? I've also seen some comments that the HubTwo router can be switched to "bridge mode" instead of being an actual router? But again, this is over my head currently and would have to look into it further (but also, don't know here to start). 

Any advice on setting up a Mesh network with plusnet broadband plus/minus any suggested kit would be greatly appreciated. But I'm very much aware that there is no "one size fits all" solution here. 

Many thanks in advance. 

10 REPLIES 10
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 437

Re: Does HubTwo work with Mesh WiFi? Or do I need a new router?

I've also seen some comments that the HubTwo router can be switched to "bridge mode" instead of being an actual router?