Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Modem comparisons

my53rdchoice
Grafter

Modem comparisons

Hi

I have been using an Asus RT-N66U modem with Merlin firmware for around 9 years and it has been as solid as rock.

I am now being sent a PN Hub Two to replace the Technicolor 582n that PN assumed I had been using since 2013 and I am wondering whether it is worth getting out of the box.

My home network consists of cables to 6 other locations (rooms etc) where there is either a port and a computer directly linked, a switch or an old modem running in bridge mode to provide either a stronger WiFi or switch.

On the network there's the usual network printer, PC's with some shared folders, consoles, TV's, tablets, phones and a DNLA server for a family of 6

If I run a generic speed test I get 67.50Mbps, 18.02Mbps at 17ms and that is fairly normal throughout the day.

So,

Are there any comparison sites out there that show the performance and hardware differences between the two

Would I notice any difference in speeds for a busy but ultimately domestic network

I like the none standard router/firmware as I felt it gave a slightly better level of protection with constant updates (till around a year ago as the modem is going into run-off) plus it gave some slightly better flexibility as it's not needed to be idiot proof.

Are there any reliable and decent alternative firmwares out there for hub 2 yet?  I've had a rummage but hadn't found anything which looks as easy and reliable as the Merlin stuff

Cheers

6 REPLIES 6
Baldrick1
Fixes: 429

Re: Modem comparisons

@my53rdchoice 

From my reading an RT-66U is a quite old router, not a modem. Have you got a separate Openreach modem or am I reading this wrong?

In terms of comparing performance with a single box Plusnet combined modem/router, your best bet is to try them both yourself and use the one with which you are happiest.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb