cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Running OpenWRT on the Plusnet Hub One (& BT Home Hub 5a)

tan159
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎24-10-2016

Re: Running OpenWRT on the Plusnet Hub One (& BT Home Hub 5a)

To starfry

Hi I want to convert another HH5 to use on ADSL using the latest LEDE as well. Couple of questions.

(1) Did you use the squasfs file or the ubifs one?
(2) did it come with Luci installed or did you have to load it on?
starfry
Rising Star
Posts: 303
Thanks: 23
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎14-09-2007

Re: Running OpenWRT on the Plusnet Hub One (& BT Home Hub 5a)

I used squashfs, mainly because that's what the `prepare` command instructed me to use. I don't know why one would choose one over the other, perhaps someone more knowledgable could explain that. Here's what I did:

0. I reinstalled the BT firmware because I had an old and broken openWrt.

1. Copy the install image to a suitable directory on your computer.

2. Run `tftp` server to serve the install image (I used linux and used `tftp-hpa` launched with `sudo in.tftpd -L -s .` from the directory containing the install image).
3. Copy the firmware files you want to use to a USB drive and insert it into the router. I used `lede-lantiq-xrx200-BTHOMEHUBV5A-squashfs-sysupgrade.bin`
4. Connect serial terminal. Power on. Hit a key to stop boot. Then:

BTHOMEHUBV5A # set serverip 10.0.200.1
BTHOMEHUBV5A # set ipaddr 10.0.200.99
BTHOMEHUBV5A # tftpboot 0x81000000 lede-lantiq-xrx200-BTHOMEHUBV5A-installimage.bin; bootm 0x81000000

(note how I changed the IP of the router (`ipaddr`) to match my network and set the location of the tftp `serverip` rather than bending my network to fit the router's defaults.)

5. When booted:

root@lede:/# prepare


6. As per displayed instructions (note the inserted USB stick automounts at `/tmp/mounts/USB-A1` and I stored the firmware file in a `hh5a` directory - amend as appropriate) :

root@lede:/# sysupgrade /tmp/mounts/USB-A1/hh5a/lede-lantiq-xrx200-BTHOMEHUBV5A-squashfs-sysupgrade.bin

If it appears to hang for quite a while - hit enter to open the LEDE terminal.

7. Edit `/etc/config/network` for IP address and `/etc/init.d/network reload` (see below). Then log in using SSH.

8. Optionally, edit `/etc/config/wireless for Wifi and `wifi` to start it. Check from wireless device. Or do it later...

9. Set root password (with `passwd` on the command-line)

10. Reboot (enter `reboot` on the command-line).

 

Something I found useful was to set the homehub up on my network alongside my existing router whilst playing around. I added gateway and dns settings to the network config, which looks like this (where 10.0.0.138 is my existing router):

config interface 'lan'
        option type 'bridge'
        option ifname 'eth0.1'
        option proto 'static'
        option ipaddr '10.0.200.200'
        option netmask '255.0.0.0'
        option gateway '10.0.0.138'
        option dns '10.0.0.138'
        option ip6assign '60'


 The base install doesn't include LuCi but it is easy to install with

root@LEDE:~# opkg update
root@LEDE:~# opkg install luci

No reboot required.

One other thing in case it is useful... here are my ADSL (not vdsl fibre) settings in `/etc/config/network`:

config dsl 'dsl'
        option annex 'a'
        option xfer_mode 'atm'
        option line_mode 'adsl'

config interface 'wan'
        option proto 'pppoa'
        option username 'username@plusdsl.net'
        option password 'password'
        option vpi '0'
        option vci '38'
        option encaps 'vc'
        option ipv6 '0'

config device 'wan_dev'
        option name 'pppoa-wan'
        option macaddr 'DE:AD:BE:EF:CA:FE'

You should already have similar blocks that you can edit to suit and they should already contain your device's mac address. Remember to `/etc/init.d/network reload` after changing `/etc/config/network`.

 

One thing I've noticed is that `halt` performs a reboot. I can't work out a clean way to shut it down.

bill888
Champion
Posts: 1,255
Thanks: 264
Fixes: 38
Registered: ‎18-10-2008

Re: Running OpenWRT on the Plusnet Hub One (& BT Home Hub 5a)

Factory reset works in squashfs. It does not work with ubifs images.

 

LUCI is included in LEDE 17.x stable, but NOT included in the daily LEDE snapshots.

https://openwrt.ebilan.co.uk/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=196

ex-Plusnet (ADSL, FTTC) 2008-2023. now BT (FTTP) 2023-
bigshorty40
Grafter
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎23-06-2017

Re: Running OpenWRT on the Plusnet Hub One (& BT Home Hub 5a)

Hi

Just wondering if someone could help me out with a very novice query. I've got to the point of installing openwrt on my plusnet hub one, shown as follows:

 

pi@raspberrypi:~ $ picocom -b 115200 /dev/ttyUSB0
picocom v1.7

port is : /dev/ttyUSB0
flowcontrol : none
baudrate is : 115200
parity is : none
databits are : 8
escape is : C-a
local echo is : no
noinit is : no
noreset is : no
nolock is : no
send_cmd is : sz -vv
receive_cmd is : rz -vv
imap is :
omap is :
emap is : crcrlf,delbs,

Terminal ready

ROM VER: 1.1.4
CFG 04
UART

 

The problem is when I try to upload the openwrt-lantiq-bthomehubv5a_ram-u-boot.asc, I get the following:

cat: openwrt-lantiq-bthomehubv5a_ram-u-boot.asc: No such file or directory

I'm presuming the files I've downloaded are not in the correct folder for the cat program to be able to link to them. Any chance someone could point me in the right direction as to where these files should go, or tell me where I'm going wrong?

Many thanks in advance.

bigshorty40
Grafter
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎23-06-2017

Re: Running OpenWRT on the Plusnet Hub One (& BT Home Hub 5a)

No need for any help now, managed to find out where the files go! Roll_eyes

starfry
Rising Star
Posts: 303
Thanks: 23
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎14-09-2007

Re: Running OpenWRT on the Plusnet Hub One (& BT Home Hub 5a)

Well I've been playing with this for a few days now, I have it installed as my main router and it's been up for a few days now. The big problem I have with the firmware version I'm using is that it's kernel version appears to be old and this is preventing installing some packages:

 

# opkg install kmod-fs-ext4
Installing kmod-fs-ext4 (4.9.47-1) to root...
Downloading http://downloads.lede-project.org/snapshots/targets/lantiq/xrx200/packages/kmod-fs-ext4_4.9.47-1_mips_24kc.ipk
Collected errors:
 * satisfy_dependencies_for: Cannot satisfy the following dependencies for kmod-fs-ext4:
 *      kernel (= 4.9.47-1-069b00521c682c9b7139152e622cb5bd) *  kernel (= 4.9.47-1-069b00521c682c9b7139152e622cb5bd) *         kernel (= 4.9.47-1-069b00521c682c9b7139152e622cb5bd) *
 * opkg_install_cmd: Cannot install package kmod-fs-ext4.

where as I have

 

# uname -a
Linux gateway 4.4.85 #0 SMP Fri Sep 1 14:05:59 2017 mips GNU/Linux

 

I've read the LEDE installation FAQ and now wonder if I should have installed the latest stable from here instead of the latest snapshot.

 

Should I "downgrade" ? If so, how do I do that given the steps I took to install (post 242). Can I just install by running `sysupgrade` again ?

Should I back up /etc/config first (I presume so, and I have it in git anyway!)

bigshorty40
Grafter
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎23-06-2017

Re: Running OpenWRT on the Plusnet Hub One (& BT Home Hub 5a)

Hi All

Hoping someone might be able to help me out with adding OpenWRT firmware to my Plusnet Hub One, as I'm getting quite frustrated with numerous attempts failing for a number of reasons. I'm not a technical novice, but I'm certainly no IT technician either, so simpleton terms for installing OpenWRT would be greatly appreciated, if any of you are able to help of course.

Following the guide I can get to the point where I load the 'tftpboot openwrt-lantiq-xrx200-BTHOMEHUBV5A-install-uImage-initramfs; bootm' firmware (I have to use TFTP Server software as tftpd32 software doesn't work for some reason, however this must be ok as the image will load onto the Hub One), and I get the OpenWRT Busybox command prompt up. From there things go wrong when I use the 'nanddump -f /mnt/pnhub_notpornhub.nanddump /dev/mtd6' command to backup the firmware. It'll start backing up, but a minute or two later it will say 'REBOOT' and go back to the 'ROM VER: 1.1.4
CFG 04 UART' screen. On my first couple of attempts I got as far as unmounting and removing the flash drive, and copying the file 'openwrt-lantiq-xrx200-BTHOMEHUBV5A-install-uImage-initramfs.tar' to the root directory of the flash drive, however I was unsure exactly where to put this file as I could see no root directory, so ended up copying it to a number of locations on the flash drive, but even then when using the 'cp /mnt/openwrt-lantiq-xrx200-BTHOMEHUBV5A-install-uImage-initramfs.tar /tmp' and 'sysupgrade /tmp/openwrt-lantiq-xrx200-BTHOMEHUBV5A-ubifs-sysupgrade.tar' I get messages saying directory or file not found.

I must be doing something wrong in the latter stages of the installation and if anyone has any ideas / advice what this might be and how I can install OpenWRT on my Hub One, I'd be ever so grateful to hear them. With all the attempts I've tried I wonder if I've actually messed up my Hub One to the point of no return, but I can always get to the point of the OpenWRT commands popping up even now, so hoping there is still a chance it's ok. I'm also not sure if I have the correct files downloaded to install OpenWRT so some links to the correct files would be appreciated.

Do hope someone can help me out with this, I'm sorry I can't give you anymore detailed information than I have, as I said my technical knowledge is limited. Many thanks in advance.

bill888
Champion
Posts: 1,255
Thanks: 264
Fixes: 38
Registered: ‎18-10-2008

Re: Running OpenWRT on the Plusnet Hub One (& BT Home Hub 5a)

If nanddump is failing, have you tried using a different flash drive?

 

Also have you considered installing LEDE 17.x stable instead of OpenWRT ?

https://openwrt.ebilan.co.uk/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=196

 

See the LEDE install guide for HH5A PDF attached to first post in this thread as it is better documented than OpenWRT:

https://openwrt.ebilan.co.uk/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=145

 

ps. I presume you still have BT stock firmware on the hub and it works.  Always make a nanddump of the stock firmware BEFORE attempting to install OpenWRT or LEDE.

ex-Plusnet (ADSL, FTTC) 2008-2023. now BT (FTTP) 2023-
bigshorty40
Grafter
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎23-06-2017

Re: Running OpenWRT on the Plusnet Hub One (& BT Home Hub 5a)

Many thanks for the reply and advice bill888, much appreciated.

 

I think I've done something irreversible to the hub one. I took note of your comment on stock firmware still working on the hub, so I just tried to power it up, and nothing happens. I get a very short flash from the LEDs when I first turn power on, but they don't stay on. Also I've tried to open up the hubs GUI in a browser and cannot get it to load up.

I'm presuming I've messed up the hub? No biggy if I have as I do have a spare, but probably won't attempt to install OpenWRT on that one. Shame if I have though as it would have been nice to get OpenWRT working on the hub.

bill888
Champion
Posts: 1,255
Thanks: 264
Fixes: 38
Registered: ‎18-10-2008

Re: Running OpenWRT on the Plusnet Hub One (& BT Home Hub 5a)

 

I presume you executed the '/hh5a-uboot-install.sh' script which would have erased the stock PN firmware, and then encountered difficulties installing the sysupgrade file due to USB issues.

Can I suggest you treat the hub as if OpenWRT is installed even though it is not working.   In the absence of a nanddump backup of the stock firmware, now boot and load the LEDE install image as per PDF guide, and execute the 'migrate' script, to convert it from OpenWRT to LEDE partition layout.  Then execute sysupgrade command to install LEDE 17.x squashfs file as documented.   The PDF was written with novices in mind.

 

If above fails, and if both your hubs are Plusnet Hub One units, you could use the nanddump from the untouched Hub One to recover your first Hub One back to stock Plusnet firmware.  But note the warning about duplicate MAC addresses etc in the PDF guide, in particularly if both hubs are running stock Plusnet firmware.

 

 

ex-Plusnet (ADSL, FTTC) 2008-2023. now BT (FTTP) 2023-
bigshorty40
Grafter
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎23-06-2017

Re: Running OpenWRT on the Plusnet Hub One (& BT Home Hub 5a)

Thanks for getting back to me Bill

 

Yes you are correct, at one point during the many attempts I did get to run the '/hh5a-uboot-install.sh' command, but it was the copying and installing the sysupgrade file where all my problems started.

I'll give your instructions a go hopefully later today, but might have to be tomorrow now. I'll let you know how I get on.

Many thanks again for your advice.

bigshorty40
Grafter
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎23-06-2017

Re: Running OpenWRT on the Plusnet Hub One (& BT Home Hub 5a)

Hi Bill

I have a query regarding install process of LEDE, just wondering if you can help.

I'll be using Ubuntu to install but I'm not sure how to go about using TFTP to transfer and start the LEDE install image. My previous attempts involved using a Raspberry Pi to do the serial work, and a Windows PC to do the TFTP process, but I'd rather be able to use the one system to do all the work. I know the install process can be done on Windows but I prefer using Terminal on Linux OS.

Do you know if there is a TFTP process or Linux software that would allow me to do the whole setup through Ubuntu? Or should I continue with the way I tried to install before using Raspberry Pi for serial and Windows for TFTP?

 

Sorry for all the questions, just want to be sure I do it right.

bigshorty40
Grafter
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎23-06-2017

Re: Running OpenWRT on the Plusnet Hub One (& BT Home Hub 5a)

Just tried to install the LEDE ram-u-boot.asc file and I get some UBI errors pop up. I've attached a screenshot of what happens when I try to install the boot file, just wondering if you can see what the problem might be.

Would be grateful for any advice.lede.jpg

starfry
Rising Star
Posts: 303
Thanks: 23
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎14-09-2007

Re: Running OpenWRT on the Plusnet Hub One (& BT Home Hub 5a)

@bigshorty40 see my post #242 re doing things on Linux. For tftp use tftp-hpa (on Ubuntu `sudo apt-get install tftpd-hpa`).
bigshorty40
Grafter
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎23-06-2017

Re: Running OpenWRT on the Plusnet Hub One (& BT Home Hub 5a)

Thanks for the advice starfry.

 

I did what you suggested, and I got to the point of the LEDE firmware installing from USB. To achieve this I put the squashfs sysupgrade file into a folder named 'hh5a' on the flash drive, instead of putting the file directly onto the flash drive, and the magic started to happen.

Unfortunately, I think the hub is now bricked as it goes to the following:

ROM VER: 1.1.4

CFG 04

UART

I've heard that this happens when the hub becomes bricked, would that be a correct assumption for mine?