Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Drilling location

FIXED
albridge
Hooked

Drilling location

Hi everyone,
I'm trying to receive the go-ahead for the drilling from my landlord and he wants to know, where exactly they going to make a hole. I realise that it is hardly may be specified before the engineer visit, but may be some rules or best practices are known? For example, may I choose any room and any external wall of the flat or it should be strictly the shortest path from the existing fiber equipment?
23 REPLIES 23
jab1
Legend
Fixes: 282

Re: Drilling location

@albridge Is this an overhead or underground link? Which floor are you on?

John
albridge
Hooked

It is the first floor of the four-storey house.
jab1
Legend

Is it an underground or overhead (pole) feed?

John
albridge
Hooked

I have no idea. How can I check it?
jab1
Legend

OK. How is your current connection made - overhead or underground. I'm no great expert on FTTP, but if it is underground,I think you should see a sheath on the building at ground level.

@MisterW  - help. 😉

John
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 438

If there's a wire going from a telegraph pole to the house , then it's overhead 

Where is the current master socket located ?

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

bmc
Hero
Fixes: 60

@albridge 

Put your phone number in the following. You need to see WBC FTTP in the left hand column.

https://www.broadbandchecker.btwholesale.com/#/ADSL

More to the point for this topic is look below the results window. There should be a narrative about FTTP including UG or OH feed and if any problems are expected.

Brian

albridge
Hooked

Thank you for the answers. Unfortunately my landlord finally declined to drill any wall. Instead he suggests to set up the Internet using the existing Openreach BT box.